The Plan.

Good morning foodies and happy monday! Too enthusiastic for the beginning of the week, you say? Starting off the week on a positive note is just one way to make sure your mood carries on throughout the rest of the week. This morning I bounced out of bed after a great night of sleep, headed straight for the coffee machine and sat down to read the Body and Soul section of the paper. Hello motivation.

Mondays require motivation; and lots of it (sometimes). Monday’s are my day to sort out the week ahead. I have a white board that I write up all my exercise for the week on which is covered with positive affirmations and pictures of London. Having these pictures and plans visual is a daily reminder for me. I am constantly being reminded of where I want to be, who I want to be and what I want to do. While it is really difficult to maintain the perfect structure all the time, having a foundation for health, motivation and exercise makes it easier to choose the right daily activities. “Should I go meet Bec for a drink? My plan says I am meant to run today. Okay, I’ll run first and meet her later on”. This usually pushes me to go further or push harder. I need this voice of reason and it comes from my whiteboard. Invest in one. Stat.

training

So, what I am going to do for you today is give you a little sample of a plan. THE plan. I want to start you off on a good note this week, so perhaps put it into motion in the next few days. Remember to drink water, get sleep and stay present (take time out to just breath every now and then). Love your body and show it the respect it deserves through hard exercise, talking & laughing and of course allowing yourself to relax!

Breakfast:

  • Glass of water
  • Pink Oats (recipe below)
  • Skim Flat White

Exercise: Do this circuit 4 times with no rest between each exercise.

  • 10 push ups
  • 1m side plank
  • 10 jump squats
  • 1m plank
  • 10 (each leg) elevated split leg squat

Snack:

  • 1 Medium Banana
  • Tea
  • Glass of water

Lunch:

  • Roasted Veggie Roll (on Wholemeal or Rye, with mushrooms, tomato, beetroot, spinach, capsicum, feta and pesto)
  • Skim Flat White
  • Glass of water

Exercise: (About 2 hours after lunch) 45 – 60mins cardio (I will be doing a 12km run)

Cardio boosts your metabolism which means more fat is burned. If you’re serious about losing weight (and perhaps getting yourself some sculpted abs), aim for a cardio session (running, cycling, swimming) 45mins (at least) three times a week. The more the better! In conjunction with a great strength routine and fat burning diet, you should see your body transform!

Snack:

  • 150g Natural Yoghurt
  • 1 Cup Carrot Sticks
  • Glass of water

Dinner:

  • Haloumi and Brocollini Warm Salad (see recipe on EWC “Food For Thought”)
  • Glass of red wine
  • Glass of water

Snack:

  • 30g Dark Chocolate
  • Herbal tea

Try to wait up for at least an hour after eating before going to bed. Aim for about 7-8 hours sleep. Sleep is a major factor in stress reduction and weight-loss. Schedule in some zzzzz. 

Photo on 2013-07-08 at 09.08 #2

Pink Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Quick Oats
  • 1/3 cup Water
  • 1/3 cup Skim Milk
  • 1 cup Mixed Berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries)
  • 1 tsp Natural Honey
  • 1/4 cup crush mixed nuts (sunflower seeds, walnuts & almonds)

Method:

Step 1: In a small saucepan combine the oats, water and milk. Bring to the boil, stirring continuously and reduce heat.

Step 2: Add the berries and stir until the mixture turns pink and the berries are warm. Transfer to a bowl.

Step 3: Sprinkle the crushed nuts over the warm oats and drizzle some honey on. Eat and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment