Who’d have thought.

Pubs aren’t typically associated with “healthy” or vegetarian meal options, however Adelaide pub, The General Havelock took me by surprise.

Located on Hutt Street just east of the city, The Havey is known for its big Thursday nights with the university crowd. Any other time it’s bar business as usual and a la carte dining in the outdoor restaurant situated at the back of the hotel.

The restaurant is modern in design and was absolutely perfect on the mid 20s day that I visited. The “Sunday Morning” Pinot Gris added a beautiful match to the sunlight streaming through the glass roof. The menu is quite extensive and contains a great selection of entrees, share plates, mains and desserts. They offer your normal pub type grub, as well as lighter options for the health nuts.

I opted for the Vegetable Medley, a dish comprising zucchini, chickpeas, eggplant, capsicum and onion sautéed in Harissa and other Mediterranean spices. This mix was then placed on a bed of spinach and topped with grilled haloumi and a roasted capsicum and chilli dip. The flavours were beautifully matched and the dip provided the “kick” I was looking for with the chilli really coming through. It was quite a large serving size, however, being the food lover I am I was sure not to leave a single chickpea on my plate.

I will definitely be making a stop back at The General Havelock, perhaps to try out their brunch menu and continue on with some afternoon beverages from their unique wine list.

A local treasure, not what I expected, but certainly “a happy vego”. Thankyou, Havvy!

20130430-220301.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment